I've had no views over the past few days... come on guys! Just contact me as you come across something you need help with! 
Kristen
11/30/2012 11:41:46 pm

Hi, I am a techno-challenged mom. My daughter loves fashion and loves her original Style Savvy game (She's 10). I want to buy her this Style Savy Trendsetter for xmas, but I need to know; will it work on her Nintendo DS Lite? Thanks, Kristen (mom of Hana from Key Largo)

Reply
Jules
12/1/2012 12:57:14 am

Great question! To anyone in the same position: here is my reply to Kristen:

Hi Kristen,

If Hana loved the first she will definitely adore the second! I was actually in the same position, I only had an onyx DS lite that still serves me well but a 3 DS game will not work on DS original, DS lite, DSi or DSi XL for 2 reasons:
1) the 3D software would be incompatible with earlier models (example: you can't play bluray in a DVD player but DVD can be played in a bluray)
2) physically the cartridge won't fit into the slot.

That little bit of extra plastic make it impossible to for the cartridge into the game slot.

Shortly put, no style savvy trendsetters will not operate on your daughters DS lite
It would require the purchase of a 3DS or 3DS XL (it simply has an extra large screen)
A 3DS costs $169.99 and a 3DS costs $199.99 *
*those are the suggested retail price (can be lower or higher)
You can also buy used - which is what I did (from my best friends little bro - a black 3DS for $100 plus 4 games)

Sorry if this is a little long, I just wanted to justify why and show you the options. Last I checked the game itself is $39.99. (Check each local retailer - prices may vary)

All in all, this game would require the purchase of a new handheld. In my opinion it was well worth it! I play it as often as I can (high school is hectic but being ten, Hana might have more free time then I) I say it is well worth it, plus all your DS games are playable on a 3DS handheld. Style Savvy was my favorite DS game since the Christmas I first got it, even now as a teenager I enjoy the sequel as much as the original, but they are unique on their own. Hope you and your family have a merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Jules
Site executive

feel free to contact me should you have any other questions about either game or the handhelds

Reply



Leave a Reply.